College of Agriculture, Engineering & Science

The College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science consists of two Faculties that offer programmes in the Durban and Pietermaritzburg centres. The Faculty of Science and Agriculture is based on the Pietermaritzburg and Westville campuses and the Faculty of Engineering on the Howard College campus. Not all programmes are available on both campuses. In particular, Agriculture is offered only on the Pietermartizburg campus and Geology only on the Westville campus. Engineering students have the option of completing their first year of study on either the Pietermaritzburg or Howard College campus. All other years of study are undertaken at Howard College, except for the final year in Agricultural Engineering, which is offered only in Pietermaritzburg.

Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering offers fully accredited professional degrees in the fields of Engineering, Land Surveying and Property Development. These are structured degree programmes in the applied sciences which stretch over four years of full time study, except for Property Development which is a three-year degree.

Emphasis is placed on training in the fundamental principles which equip engineers, construction managers, land surveyors and quantity surveyors with the necessary skills to deal competently with the manifold problems they will meet in their professions. Graduates readily secure jobs with top national and international companies.

Faculty website :

Faculty of Science and Agriculture

The Faculty of Science and Agriculture is recognised nationally and internationally as a centre of excellence in education and research. It produces sought-after graduates who are equipped with the skills and training to meet the challenges of the 21st century. The Faculty offers a diverse range of disciplines enabling students to shape their degrees according to their interests and career aspirations. Programmes include general and flexible degrees as well as more specialised options with structured modules and focused vocational outcomes. Degrees are characterised by relevant and integrated training which encourages participative learning experiences. All first degrees, with the exception of the four-year Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, require a minimum of three years of full time study.

Faculty website : 


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved